managing lists, notes and other paper

If you are like me, you have a lot of lists and other paper “stuff”.  There are those ever-present to-do lists, lists of gifts to get for family and friends, as well as notes from various classes, meetings or events, just to name a few.  And some of you may still keep a paper calendar too.  (I tried to go all electronic for scheduling this year, since I have an iphone and had been predominantly relying on it for my calendar for the better part of 2011.  Unfortunately, I really lost the “big picture” perspective on my calendar, so I just decided to add my paper calendar back and ordered them this week.)

The best system I have found with which to corral all of this paper is the Levenger Circa notebook.  The notebooks use a hole punch system that is sort of like a rolodex (oops, I guess I just dated myself that I actually know about and have used a rolodex in my professional life), that uses discs not rings and allows you to put paper in and take it out at any place in the notebook.  The have two main sizes:  junior and letter.  Though I own and have used both, I prefer the junior for my daily planner.  It is easier to carry in a purse or briefcase and the paper size is generally just right for my needs.  They have several different types of paper available that is pre-punched.  I prefer the grid paper, either full-page or annotated grid with a handy open margin on the left.  You can also buy a hole punch to create your own pages for the notebook or insert other documents.  They also have agendas, monthly calendar tabs, annual calendar pull-outs, and other “forms” that you can use to customize your notebook.

The folks at Levenger make a starter kit that gives you everything to try out a Circa notebook without too much of an investment (less than $20).  Or you can create your own.  Once you decide if you like the system, then you can upgrade to a leather cover, fancy discs, or any of the other great options they have (I have a red leather cover with my initials and black discs that I use as my everyday planner).

My monthly calendar tabs arrived today (hooray!) and I can’t wait to get them back in my circa planner and regain perspective on my schedule.  What a great way to spend a Friday night!  (Yes, I know I’m an organization geek.)


One Comment on “managing lists, notes and other paper”

  1. herbie53lover says:

    Would you address one of my problems–0ut of sight, out of mind?


Leave a comment